Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Live from Kolkata and Mumbai

Wed October 13 @ 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm EDT

Details

Date:
Wed October 13
Time:
12:30 pm - 1:30 pm EDT
Event Categories:
,

Time Zones

Pacific Time
9:30am
Mountain Time
10:30am
Central Time
11:30am
Eastern Time
12:30pm

Click to Register

In celebration of India’s border opening which coincides with of the holy week of Navratri we will, for the first time anywhere, be hosting a virtual tour and then LIVE interaction with our guides in India. Subhankar and Avijit will be our hosts in Kolkata to narrate the ceremony and the 9 days that Hindus celebrate.

We will start with the story of the first 7 days of the celebration and then join then Dutta family LIVE as they celebrate the juncture when Ashtami ends (end of day 8) and beginning of Navami (start of day 9) which is most auspicious time of the festival. The celebration in these traditional families is an interesting feature of Kolkata’s heritage. Some of these pujas date back nearly 200 years or more and are still performed with great dedication and devotion.